Posted by: alisonwalley | 27 July 2009

Leaving your Bible behind

Not something I’d recommend! But for about four days at the start of our recent holiday I thought I had done just that – it wasn’t in the bag I was sure I’d put it in, or the suitcase it might otherwise have been in.

At least I had downloaded some of the WordLive podcasts onto my iPod, so for a few days I listened to those instead. It’s quite a different way of taking time out with God. But I was frustrated to think that I might have left my Bible at home.

Fortunately, the Bible turned up when we unpacked the car a bit more and discovered I had logically put it with some other books instead of with clothes or in the rucksack with the camera.

Why am I bothering to write about this? Because when you go away, it’s all too easy to get out of the habit of reading the Bible. If you only do it because that’s your routine, when you get out of that routine, it’s one of the things to go. And let’s face it, aren’t holidays all about getting out of the normal routine? You lie in, then you want to go somewhere or do something, and it’s easy to let Bible reading and prayer slip.

But on the other hand, what better time to spend a bit longer on reading the Bible and praying than when you’re on holiday? You don’t have a routine, you don’t have to stick to time (and if you’re catching plane, train or ferry, there’s always a waiting around time to read something). If holidays are to refresh us, shouldn’t they also refresh us spiritually? A holiday from our usual routine is one thing, a holiday from God is not something to be recommended! And really, when you think about it, it’s not really possible – it’s being foolishly rude to ignore God’s presence.

We didn’t manage to get to a church while we were away. But we did see lots of wonderful scenery; we enjoyed and wondered at God’s amazing creation. And yes, when I found it, I did go on reading my Bible!

verdon

“Praise the Lord … you mountains and all hills … praise the name of the Lord, for his name alone is exalted; his splendour is above the earth and the heavens.” (Psalm 148)

Leave a Reply

Categories

