Posted by: alisonwalley | 20 November 2009

Home groups: the bigger picture

As home group coordinator for our church I’ve been asked to put a few ideas together on ‘the bigger vision’ for the groups. It’s a good exercise, because it got me thinking, what do we really want from them?

I should say that although these groups are for fellowship and prayer, I see the role of studying the Bible together in them as very important because that’s the way we learn and grow. So what would I like for them?

I think my bigger vision is that we’d all get a greater desire to know God better and for this we need to be studying our Bibles in the power of the Holy Spirit. We need to be taking taking the Bible seriously and taking serious too the power of the word of God in our lives. We need to have confidence in the Bible and come to it expecting it to change us.

Is this too big a vision? Why should it be? We have a great God who actually, amazingly, wants us to get to know him better. I think we should be praying Paul’s prayer in Ephesians (3:17–19):

I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep in the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of Christ.

But he goes on: “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…” How big is my vision? May God grant it to be bigger than I can imagine!

Responses

  1. Hmm, this was supposed to be published on Sunday but I obviously didn’t press the right button!


Leave a Reply

Categories

